College of the Marshall Islands Friday, August 27th: 11:10 AM – 12:00 PM Faculty Senate – Minutes of Discussion

Chair: Adedayo Ogunmokun – FS President [Final meeting as acting President] Deputy Chair: Alvin Page – FS Vice President [Replaced Adedayo as acting President until role is filled] Minute taker: Alexander Velasquez – FS Secretary and Treasurer Quorum: 23 required, 26 in attendance; quorum reached.

1. Quorum was reached at 11:18 AM

- i. The agenda was adopted and seconded, no abstentions.
- ii. The College Mission Statement was read.
- 2. <u>Review of the Minutes</u> (from April 23rd, 2021)
- i. The minutes from the previous meeting were adopted and seconded with no abstentions.
- 3. Special/Urgent Business
 - i. The following are the results for the committee elections:
 - 1. <u>Faculty Senate President</u>: This was tabled for the next meeting; as of now, Dr. Adedayo has stepped down, and Mr. Page, current Vice President, has stepped in as acting President until the next meeting decides who becomes President.
 - 2. <u>Vice President:</u> Alvin Page nominated, seconded, no abstentions.
 - 3. <u>Secretary:</u> Alexander Velasquez self-nominated, seconded, no abstentions.
 - 4. <u>Executive Council:</u> Adedayo Ogunmokun self-nominated, seconded, no abstentions.
 - 5. <u>Human Resources Committee:</u> Marson Ralpho and Gade Maitokana nominated to retain their positions, seconded, no abstentions.
 - 6. <u>Institutional Effectiveness Committee:</u> Rosina Korean willing to continue as representative, seconded, no abstentions.
 - 7. <u>Enrollment Management Committee:</u> Both Rosalinda Sumaoang and Oyinade Ogunmokun were nominated, seconded, no abstentions
 - 8. <u>Plant and Facilities Committee:</u> Dako Nating will step down; Edward Adiniwin selfnominated as representative, seconded, no abstentions.
 - 9. <u>Information Technology Committee:</u> Michael Corpuz and Curtis Vila nominated, seconded, no abstentions.
 - 10. <u>Steering Committee:</u> Rebecca Raab self-nominated, seconded, no abstentions.
 - ii. Voting on HR Documents:
 - 1. Marson has sent out HR documents that require Faculty Senate as a committee to provide feedback, as there are still questions surrounding "incomplete activities" and "unresolved issues" from our part as the Faculty Senate Committee.
 - a. The Faculty of the College and HR evaluation documents sent out earlier this week should be commented upon by 3:00 PM today.
 - 2. Ethics policies will also be sent out in due time.
- 4. Curriculum Committee RSA:
 - i. Desmond Doulatram and Patricia Owens are the new representatives of this committee.
- 5. Information Technology Committee:
 - i. Faculty Senate needs to comment on two major documents:
 - 1. Terms and Conditions for Laptops and Desktops
 - 2. IT Policies and Procedures
 - a. ITC will review and revise CMI's outdated policies and procedures, as well as make revisions due to unanticipated changes in policies that include, among other things, unauthorized uses of faculty laptops.
 - b. The IT Policies and Procedures were approved in 2016; since then, faculty have given feedback about the policy, such as matters concerning privacy.
 - c. ITC will vote on these documents on the 15th of September.
- 6. Meeting Adjourned at 12:03 PM.

Alvin Page Faculty Senate President

los F/ 1

Alexander Velasquez Faculty Senate Secretary/Treasurer